Skip to content
The article is more than 3 years old

Finland lifts more travel restrictions as summer kicks into gear

Countries including Netherlands, Belgium, Italy, Austria, Greece, Hungary and Switzerland among others made the cut.

Italiasta tulleita ihmisiä kasvomaskeissa kävelee lentokoneesta Lappeenrannan lentoasemalla 1.7.2020.
Travel restrictions are lifted bwteeen Finland and more than 10 countries. Image: Mikko Savolainen / Yle
Yle News

Travel restrictions between Finland and several European and non-EU countries will be officially lifted starting 13 July, government announced at a press conference on Wednesday.

Entry restrictions will be lifted at the borders between Finland and the following countries — Netherlands, Belgium, Italy, Austria, Greece, Malta, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Hungary, Switzerland, Liechtenstein.

The epidemic situation in these countries has been assessed as stable. The prerequisite is that there must be fewer than eight cases per 100,000 people in these countries in the last two weeks, Interior Minister Maria Ohisalo said at the press conference held after lengthy government talks on Wednesday morning.

The minister added that Finland will also consider lifting entry restrictions on countries if there are no more than 10 infections per 100,000 inhabitants in 14 days.

Unrestricted travel will be permitted between Finland and Cyprus, Ireland, Andorra, San Marino and the Vatican.

Non-EU countries on the list

Starting 13 July, travel restrictions will also be lifted on certain countries outside the EU and Europe, subject to the same conditions.

Work-related and essential travel between Finland and Algeria, Australia, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China will be permitted.

If the pandemic situation remains stable, Finland will review travel restrictions in another two weeks — the next changes to border traffic would therefore take effect from 27 July.

Border controls were lifted on travel between Finland and Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Denmark, Norway and Iceland since 15 June. Travellers coming in from these countries are not required to enter self-quarantine.

Restrictions on Sweden, Spain and UK still remain

According to Ohisalo, Finland will continue to be cautious about lifting travel restrictions.

Limitations on travel to and from Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Bulgaria, Croatia, Luxembourg, Portugal, Romania, Monaco, Poland and the Czech Republic, among others, still remain in place.

Finland continues to recommend voluntary self-quarantine for visitors from these countries.

Latest: paketissa on 10 artikkelia

Migri has carried out post-decision checks of selected permit-holders since 2017, but now intends to do so more systematically using automatic monitoring.