Skip to content
The article is more than 2 years old

Lukko win first ice hockey championship since 1963

The Rauma-based team beat Turku's TPS by three games to one in the play-off final series.

 Varakapteeni Toni Koivisto nostaa Kanada-maljan Lukon mestaruuden kunniaksi.
Lukko's vice-captain Toni Koivisto raises the 'Canada Bowl' trophy after Tuesday evening's 6-2 win over TPS. Image: Lehtikuva
Yle News

Lukko has won the Finnish men's ice hockey Championship Series for the first time in 58 years.

The Rauma-based club beat TPS of Turku 6-2 (2–0, 2–2, 2–0) in the fourth match of the final series to win the championship by three games to one. Lukko's only previous championship win came in 1963.

Head coach Pekka Virta told broadcaster C More after the game that he has been building the team for four years with a focus on each player understanding their own role as well as the team's culture.

"Our game was in good shape after last season, so we were able to invest in team spirit," Virta said. "We have a really great team and they are very committed. Good players win in the end and the credit belongs to them."

Virta had spent 27 days in intensive care earlier this year after contracting coronavirus, and missed nearly two months of work in the lead up to the play-off series.

Lukko's victory sparked jubilant scenes of celebration on the streets of the west coast city, where fans had gathered in the centre to watch Tuesday evening's game.

Rauman Lukon fanit seurasivat SM-liigan finaalia tiistaina.
Fans in Rauma city centre after Lukko's championship win was confirmed. Image: Jenni Joensuu / Yle

Latest: paketissa on 10 artikkelia