Skip to content
The article is more than 8 years old

Tuition fees planned for non-EEA students

The government is planning to introduce tuition fees for higher-education students coming from outside the European Economic Area. Minimum fees of 4,000 euros will be payable each year under government plans, with the system slated for introduction in 2016.

Opiskelijoita Oulun yliopistossa.
Image: Yle / Ari-Pekka Sirviö

If introduced, fees will be imposed on students from countries other than members of the EEA - that is from elsewhere than 27 of the 28 European Union member countries (Croatia's EEA membership is currently pending), as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Exchange students will not be affected.

The revenue from tuitions will be available for use by higher education institutions, which will also be expected to set up financial aid for less wealthy students from outside the EEA.

The leader of the National Coalition Party's parliamentary group, MP Arto Satonen Wednesday confirmed the government is weighing the plan, as first reported by the Green Party publication Vihreä Lanka.

Under the plan, tuition will be a minimum of 4,000 euros per study year for degree programmes, and possibly more in some fields. The fees are likely to be introduced in 2016.

Latest: paketissa on 10 artikkelia