Skip to main content

Yle's organisation

Yle's Administrative Council

Yle's Administrative Council has 21 members. Administrative Council assembles 6–7 times during a calendar year.

Yle's Administrative Council includes representatives from the fields of science, art, education, business and economics, as well as representatives of different social and language groups (The Act on Yleisradio Oy). Yle's personnel have two staff representatives in the Administrative Council. Staff representatives have the right to attend and speak at the meetings, but do not have the right to vote.

Tasks of The Administrative Council

  • Elects and dismisses the company’s Board of Directors and its Chairman and determines the compensation for Board Members

  • Decides on issues concerning considerable restriction or expansion of the activities or significant changes in the organization of the company

  • Oversees and supervises that tasks involving public service programme activities are carried out

  • Submits a report every second year on the implementation of the public service in the past two years to Parliament after having heard the Sami Parliament

  • Decides on Yle's strategy

  • Decides on the economical and operational guidelines

  • Reviews and approves the annual report of the Board of Directors

  • Supervises the administration of the company and issue a statement on the financial statement and the auditors’ report to the Ordinary General Meeting of the shareholders.

Members of The Administrative Council

Yle's Administrative Council held its first meeting on June 30, 2023. The Parliament elected the members on June 28.

Administrative Council's Chairman is Sinuhe Wallinheimo (National Coalition Party).

Some of the members are new, some have served on Yle's Administrative Council in previous years.

Sinuhe Wallinheimo, Chairman

Jari Ronkainen

Pauli Aalto-Setälä

Li Andersson

Elisa Gebhard

Maria Guzenina

Petri Honkonen

Teemu Keskisarja

Pihla Keto-Huovinen

Marko Kilpi

Johan Kvarnström

Suna Kymäläinen

Hanna-Leena Mattila

Maria Ohisalo

Mikko Ollikainen

Susanne Päivärinta

Päivi Räsänen

Jaana Strandman

Joakim Vigelius

Pia Viitanen

Timo Vornanen

Staff Representatives

Tapio Räihä, journalist

  • deputy representatives Patrik Schauman and Camilla Vilkman

Jukka Kuusinen, assistant

  • deputy representatives Ann-Louise Laaksonen and Miikka Liukkonen

Working Committee

Sinuhe Wallinheimo, Chairman

Jari Ronkainen, Vice Chairman

Suna Kymäläinen 30 June 2023–30 June 2025

Maria Guzenina 1 July 2025–6/2027 (until a new supervisory board is elected)

Petri Honkonen

Maria Ohisalo

Li Andersson

Mikko Ollikainen

Päivi Räsänen

In other languages