Skip to main content

Thursday series 1

Tickets: from 30 / 25 / 20 / 18 (pens.) / 8 €

Sopraano Nina Stemme
Sopraano Nina Stemme nina stemme

Sibelius’s magnificent E flat major symphony took an unusually long time to mature. The themes of Matthew Whittal’s The Architecture of Happiness are happiness, beauty, success, loss, grief and recovery. The concert ends with the closing scene from Richard Strauss’s opera Salome, in which death mingles with eroticism in a way that is no less than startling.

Text: Lotta Emanuelsson

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Nina Stemme, soprano

Sibelius: Symphony No. 5
Whittal: The Architecture of Happiness, fp (Yle commission)
R. Strauss: Final scene from the opera Salome