Skip to main content

Friday series 3

Tickets: from 30 / 25 / 20 / 18 (pens.) / 8 €

Intermission appr. at 19.55. The concert ends at about 21.15.

viulisti Vadim
viulisti Vadim Picture by: Marco Borggreve vadim gluzman

The music of Alfred Schnittke represents the art of paradox and contrast. In his fourth violin concerto, brutal sound competes with a heart-rending yearning for beauty, a giant orchestra with a solitary soloist, a totalitarian regime with the individual’s striving for freedom. Now an Israeli citizen, Vadim Gluzman was born in the former Soviet Union and Schnittke has found in him a passionate advocate.

Text: Lotta Emanuelsson

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Vadim Gluzman, violin

Schnittke: Violin Concerto No. 4
Tšaikovski: Symphony No. 6 "Pathétique"

Prokofjev: Quintet for Oboe, Clarinet, Violin, Viola and Double Bass
Francisco Almazán, oboe
Christoffer Sundqvist, clarinet
Paula Sundqvist, violin
Riitta-Liisa Ristiluoma, viola
Aapo Juutilainen, Double-Bass