Skip to main content

Thursday series 6

Tickets: from 30 / 25 / 20 / 18 (pens.) / 8 €

Steven Isserlis
Steven Isserlis Steven Isserlis Picture by: Kevin Davies steven isserlis

Kaija Saariaho’s Circle Map was premiered with Susanna Mälkki conducting in Amsterdam in summer 2012. The introvert cello concerto by William Walton spreads its expansive melodies like an albatross its wings, and Debussy’s melancholy Gigues, serving as a prelude to this, calls forth images of Scottish landscapes. Rondes de Printemps, from the same orchestral suite as Images, offers a promise of spring on a cold January evening.

Text: Lotta Emanuelsson

Susanna Mälkki, conductor
Steven Isserlis, cello

Debussy: Gigues
Walton: Cello Concerto
Saariaho: Circle Map,fp in Finland
Debussy: Rondes de Printemps