Skip to main content

Friday series 7

Tickets: from 30 / 25 / 20 / 18 (pens.) / 8 €

Interval at about 20. The concert ends at about 21.05. The late night chamber ends at 21.55.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja
Patricia Kopatchinskaja Patricia Kopatchinskaja Picture by: Marco Borggreve patricia kopatchinskaja

Patricia Kopatchinskaja’s disc of the second violin concerto by Béla Bartók won a Gramophone Award. The first RSO performance of a work by Sibelius in the Sibelius jubilee year is the impressionistic tone poem The Dryad composed in the wake of the fourth symphony. Le tombeau de Couperin, orchestrated by Ravel from his piano suite, is also a tribute to his friends who died in the war. 25-year-old Richard Strauss likewise reflects on death in his brilliant orchestral poem.

Text: Lotta Emanuelsson

Sakari Oramo, conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin

Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin
Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2
Sibelius: The Dryad
R. Strauss: Tod und Verklärung

Laura Hynninen, harp
Emmi Tikkala, flute
Riitta-Liisa Ristiluoma, viola

Salzedo: Variations sur un thème dans le style ancient
Debussy: Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp