Skip to main content

Friday series 10

Tickets: from 30 / 25 / 20 / 18 (pens.) / 8 €

Interval at about 20.00. The concert ends at about 21.00. The late-night chamber music ends at about 21.45.

Krzysztof Urbański
Krzysztof Urbański Krzysztof Urbański Picture by: LENA KNUTLI krzysztof urbański

The year 2015 marks the 70th anniversary of the end of the Second World War and the death of Béla Bartók. The young Polish conductor Urbanski returns to Helsinki with the greatest works of two of his fellow countrymen, Krzysztof Penderecki’s Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima for strings and Witold Lutosławski’s Concerto for Orchestra, which pays homage to Bartók. The mournful D minor concerto was Beethoven’s favourite Mozart concerto.

Text: Lotta Emanuelsson

Krzysztof Urbański, conductor
Antti Siirala, piano

Penderecki: Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20
Lutoslawski: Concerto for Orchestra

Laura Vikman, violin
Hannu Vasara, violin
Riitta-Liisa Ristiluoma, viola
Jussi Tuhkanen, viola
Mikko Ivars, cello
Mozart: String Quintet in C Minor

Friday 13.3.2015
Helsinki Music Centre at 7 pm (UTC+2)
Live Webcast Concert & Late Night Chamber Music starting at 6.50 pm