Skip to main content

Friday series 11

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Mikhail Petrenko, bass
Polyteknikkojen Kuoro, coach Saara Aittakumpu

R. Strauss: Metamorphosen, Study for 23 Solo Strings
Šostakovitš: Symphony No. 13 ”Babi Yar”

Live webstream March 27 at 7pm (UTC +2)

Mikhail Petrenko
Mikhail Petrenko Mikhail Petrenko Picture by: Askonas Holt mikhail petrenko

Richard Strauss had the words of Goethe “Niemend wird sich selber kennen” (No one will know himself) in mind as he composed his heart-breaking Metamorphoses. The 80-year-old composer was devastated by the destruction of the world around him: gone were the whole era and culture that fed his nostalgic late Romanticism. Another witness to the horrors of war is the 13th symphony by Dmitri Shostakovich. Babi Jar is the name of a ravine in Ukraine and a scene of the mass murder of Jews by Nazi soldiers in autumn 1941.

Details of the event

Tickets: from 30 / 25 / 20 / 18 (pens.) / 8 €

Interval at about 19.35. The concert ends at about 21.10.