Skip to main content

Friday series 13

Tickets: from 30 / 25 / 20 / 18 (pens.) / 8 €

Interval at about 19.25. The concert ends at about 21.05. The late-night chamber music ends at about 21.35.

Kent Nagano
Kent Nagano Kent Nagano Picture by: Benjamin Ealovega kent nagano

Kaija Saariaho did not want to make her organ concerto a “decibel competition” between two loud sound sources, organ and orchestra. Kent Nagano, now visiting Finland for the third time, was the conductor of the premiere of Saariaho’s concerto in Montreal in spring 2014. The name “Romantic” attached to Bruckner’s fourth symphony is rare in that it was chosen by the composer himself. From the very first bars, the listener is in no doubt what he meant, for the music exudes a powerful feel for nature, like a magnificent landscape painted in broad brush strokes.

Text: Lotta Emanuelsson

Kent Nagano, conductor
Jan Lehtola, organ

Saariaho: Maan varjot, Organ Concerto, fp in Finland
Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "The Romantic"

Emma Vähälä, violin
Jouko Laivuori, piano
Saariaho: Nocturne
Saariaho: Tocar