Skip to main content

Wednesday series 1

Tickets: from 30 / 25 / 20 / 18 (pens.) / 8 €

Interval at about 19.55. The concert ends at about 21.15.

viulisti Elina Vähälä
viulisti Elina Vähälä Picture by: Laura Riihelä elina vähälä

The words of Symphony no. 16 for mezzo-soprano, strings and percussion by Kalevi Aho are by the German poet Gertrud Kolmar who died in Auschwitz. Elina Vähälä is the soloist in the original version of the Sibelius Violin Concerto, a work dripping with Nordic psychedelic sounds.

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Elina Vähälä, violin
Virpi Räisänen, mezzo-soprano

Jean Sibelius: The Oceanides, Yale version
Jean Sibelius: Violin Concerto, original version
Kalevi Aho: Symphony No. 16 for mezzo-soprano, strings and percussions, fp (Yle commission)