Skip to main content

Friday series 6

Tickets: from 40 / 35 / 30 / 25 (pens.) / 10 €

Interval at about 20.00. The concert ends at about 21.15.

Sopraano Karita Mattila
Sopraano Karita Mattila Picture by: Marica Rosengård karita mattila

The autumn season ends on a Finnish note. Joining ace soprano Karita Mattila in Sibelius’s Luonnotar and Kaija Saariaho’s Mirage is cellist Anssi Karttunen, who will also be the soloist in Cello Concerto no. 2 by Magnus Lindberg. Framing these works by Finnish composers is music by two Frenchmen: Debussy and Ravel. Magnus Lindberg and Kaija Saariaho will be talking to Chief Conductor Hannu Lintu before the concert.

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Karita Mattila, soprano
Anssi Karttunen, cello

Claude Debussy: Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Magnus Lindberg: Cello Concerto No. 2
Jean Sibelius: Luonnotar
Kaija Saariaho: Mirage
Maurice Ravel: Daphnis & Chloe, Suite No. 2
Uusi Helsinki Quartet
Jouni Kaipainen: String Quartet No. 5