Skip to main content

14.12. Wednesday series 7


Interval at about 19.30. The concert ends at about 21.

Lilli Paasikivi, mezzosopraano
Lilli Paasikivi, mezzosopraano Picture by: Rami Lappalainen Lilli Paasikivi
At this closing concert of the autumn season, the FRSO gives the world premiere performance of a new work, Winter and Spring, by Eero Hämeenniemi for mezzo-soprano and orchestra. The concert also pays tribute to the Shakespeare jubilee year with Sibelius’s The Tempest. The soloist in both pieces is Lilli Paasikivi, Artistic Director of the Finnish National Opera.

Osmo Vänskä, conductor
Lilli Paasikivi, mezzosoprano
Jussi Nikkilä, narrator

Eero Hämeenniemi: Winter calm and Summer storms for mezzo-soprano and orchestra, fp (Yle commission)
Jean Sibelius: Selections from The Tempest by Osmo Vänskä

Wed Dec 14, 2016 at 7 pm
Music Centre, Concert hall
Live webcast starting at 6.50 pm