Skip to main content

4.2. Meet the Orchestra

Tickets: €8-9

Intermission at about 15.45. The concert ends at 16.55.

RSO:n orkesterikartta
RSO:n orkesterikartta Picture by: Heidi Grönroos rso orkesterikartta
“I would never have written like this had I not seen America,” said Antonín Dvořák of his ninth Symphony, composed after he had settled in the United States. But how did he describe America? Can we hear it in the famous cor anglais solo or the brass bombardment of the closing movement? These are just some of the questions which this Get to Know the Orchestra seeks to answer, placing both the music and the orchestra under a magnifying glass. This family concert is suitable for children aged 7 or more. Please note that the concert is only in Finnish.

Janne Nisonen, conductor
Jukka Nykänen, hosts

Antonin Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”