Skip to main content

7.4. Friday series 12

Tickets: €8-33

The interval at about 7.55 pm. The concert ends at about 21.05 pm. The late night chamber music ends at about 9.40 pm.

Isabelle Faust, viulu
Isabelle Faust, viulu Picture by: Felix Broede Isabelle Faust
Isabelle Faust’s surrealistic rendering of the Berg Violin Concerto is something quite new and different. She thanks her “Sleeping Beauty” Stradivarius, an instrument of supernatural beauty just right for this strangely glowing work dedicated “to the memory of an angel”. Also on the programme is a work by the concert’s conductor Heinz Holliger. The late-night chamber music features FRSO brass players.

Heinz Holliger, conductor
Isabelle Faust, violin

Heinz Holliger: Tonscherben
Alban Berg: Violin Concerto
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 2

Jukka Harju, French horn
Jouko Harjanne, trumpet
Tomas Gricius, trumpet
Teppo Alestalo, trombone
Anders Hauge, tuba
Kazutaka Morita, percussion instruments
Giovanni Gabrieli: Canzona per Sonare No. 4
J. S. Bach: The Art of Fugue, Contrapunctus I
Tylman Susato (arr. Iveson): Renaissance dances "Five Dances from The Danserye"