Skip to main content

21.4. Friday series 13

Tickets: €8-33

Intermission at 19.45. The concert ends at 20.50.

Otto Virtanen, fagotti
Otto Virtanen, fagotti Picture by: Jozsef Hars Otto Virtanen
The FRSO’s own bassoon genius Otto Virtanen is the soloist in the world premiere performance of Jaakko Kuusisto’s Bassoon Concerto. There will also be music by Sibelius and Elgar, all conducted by Anna-Maria Helsing, whom the world will remember as the conductor at the 2015 Nobel gala.

Anna-Maria Helsing, conductor
Otto Virtanen, bassoon

Jean Sibelius: Rakastava
Jaakko Kuusisto: Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra Op. 35, fp (Yle commission)
Edward Elgar: Enigma Variations