Skip to main content

6.9. Wednesday series 1

Tickets: € 9-35

The interval at about 7.50 pm. The concert ends at about 9.20 pm.

basso Mikhail Petrenko
basso Mikhail Petrenko Picture by: Aleksandra Bodrova Mikhail Petrenko
A sullen old man serially kills his wives in Bartók’s opera Bluebeard’s Castle, while two feuding families deprive two young lovers of their happiness and lives in Prokofiev’s ballet. Yet they all wanted simply to be loved. Blood-curdling growls and hysterical outbursts issue from the mouths of Mikhail Petrenko and Violeta Urmana, two stars familiar from the Met.

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Violeta Urmana, soprano
Mikhail Petrenko, bass

Sergei Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet, Suite for Orchestra
Béla Bartók: Bluebeard’s Castle

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena.
Watch and listen on demand after the concert at Yle Areena.