Skip to main content

2.3. Friday series 10

Oliver Knussen, conductor
Jukka Harju, French horn

Ferruccio Busoni: Rondo Arlecchinesco
Ferruccio Busoni: Nocturne Symphonique
Oliver Knussen: Concerto for French Horn
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 2

Late Night Chamber Music:
Jukka Harju: Lähtöjä, fp (Yle commission)
Christoffer Sundqvist, clarinet
Otto Virtanen, bassoon
Tomas Nuñez-Garcés, cello
Jani Niinimäki, percussion

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena.

käyrätorvisti Jukka Harju
käyrätorvisti Jukka Harju Picture by: Tuomo Eerikäinen jukka harju
The wondrous sound of the French horn lends itself both to signal toots and the great outdoors, to dreamy poetry and mysterious depths. As it does in the masterpiece by Scotland’s Oliver Knussen. The soloist is the FRSO’s own principal horn, Jukka Harju, and the conductor is Knussen himself. The Brahms symphony is like a charming nature trail, wandering along in Central European style.

Details of the event

Tickets: € 9-35

Interval at appr. 19.50. The concert ends at appr. 21.00. The Late Night Chamber Music ends at appr. 21.30.