Skip to main content

12.10. Friday series 3 / Iceland and Estonia 100 years

Tickets: 9–35 €
The interval at about 8.00 pm. The concert ends at about 9.15 pm. The late night chamber music ends at about 10.00 pm.

Anna Þorvaldsdóttir
Anna Þorvaldsdóttir Picture by: Saga Sigurdardottir Anna S. Þorvaldsdóttir

Iceland and Estonia both celebrate their 100th anniversary this year. The FRSO pays homage in a concert of dreams and dreaming. The dreams in Dreaming by Þorvaldsdóttir, winner of the Nordic Music Prize, are more organic than in Prokofiev’s Rêves. The recent music by Jüri Reinvere for the Ingmar Bergman collage commissioned by the Gothenburg Symphony is also dreamy. Filling the concerto slot is the Dvořák cello concerto in a masterly performance by Arto Noras.

Anna-Maria Helsing, conductor
Arto Noras, cello

Jüri Reinvere: Through a Lens Darkly
Sergei Prokofiev: Dreams, Op. 6
Anna Þorvaldsdóttir: Dreaming
Antonín Dvořák: Cello Concerto
Late-night chamber music:
Paula Sundqvist, violin
Tuija Rantamäki, cello
Sonja Fräki, piano
Antonín Dvořák: Piano Trio “Dumky”

Watch and listen LIVE 12.10. at 7 pm EET.