Skip to main content

11.1. Friday series 8

Tickets: 9–35 €

Interval at about 20:00. The concert will end at about 21.10. The Late Night Chamber Music will end at about 21.40.

Someone suggested commissioning an oboe concerto from Jukka Tiensuu, but he wanted to write for trombone. That was ok, however, because the FRSO has an ace trombonist of its own: Darren Acosta. The soloist in Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra is the whole FRSO, and there is more music by the Hungarian composer in the late-night chamber music concert.

John Storgårds, conductor
Darren Acosta, trombone

Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 96
Jukka Tiensuu: Trombone Concerto, fp (Yle commission)
Béla Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra
Late-night chamber music:
Laura Vikman, violin
Jukka Pohjola, violin
Jakob Dingstad, viola
Mikko Ivars, cello
Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 3