Skip to main content

8.2. Friday series 10 / Musica nova Helsinki

Tickets: 9–35 €

The interval at about 19.50. The concert will end at about 21:05, the late-night chamber music at about 21.50.

Pekka Kuusisto
Pekka Kuusisto Picture by: Kaapo Kamu Pekka Kuusisto

Icelandic classical music is becoming increasingly fashionable in Finland, as Musica nova Helsinki is well aware. Violinists around the world are queuing up to play the violin concerto by Daniel Bjarnason, but the honour now falls to Pekka Kuusisto, for whom it was written. Also on the programme is the massive, electric TELEKINESIS by prog-oriented Tyondai Braxton.

André de Ridder, conductor
Pekka Kuusisto, violin
Helsinki Chamber Choir, coach Jutta Seppinen

Daníel Bjarnason: Emergence
Daníel Bjarnason: Violin Concerto
Tyondai Braxton: Telekinesis
Late-night chamber music:
Salla Savolainen, violin
Tommi Aalto, viola
Jukka Rautasalo, cello
Andrew Norman: String Quartet “The Companion Guide to Rome”

Watch and listen LIVE 8.2. at 7 pm EET.