Skip to main content

14.3. Thursday series 8

Klaus Mäkelä, conductor
Ilja Gringoltz, violin

J. S. Bach (orch. Webern): Fuga (2. Ricercata) à 6 voci BWV 1079/5
Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Concerto
J. S. Bach (orch. Berio): Contrapunctus XIX BWV 1080/19
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3

Klaus Mäkelä
Klaus Mäkelä Picture by: Heikki Tuuli Klaus Mäkelä,Turun musiikkijuhlat,Turun musiikkijuhlat

This concert was to have marked Klaus Mäkelä’s debut with the FRSO, but it was pre-empted by a last-minute stand-in in February 2018. The idea behind his concert is the welding of Modernist arrangements of Bach with some Mendelssohn and the Beethoven violin concerto. The soloist is Ilya Gringolts, who shot to world fame after winning the Paganini Competition back in 1998.

Details of the event

Tickets: 9–35 €

The interval at about 20.05. The concert will end at about 21.20.