Skip to main content

5.4. Friday series 12

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Tomas Nuñez-Garcés, cello

Benjamin Britten: Symphony for Cello and Orchestra
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5

Watch and listen LIVE 5.4. at 7 pm EET.

Tomas Nunez-Garces
Tomas Nunez-Garces Picture by: ©2012 by Jaakko Paarvala - All Rights Reserved Tomas Nuñez-Garcés

The FRSO regularly invites soloists from among its own players. The soloist in this concert is Tomas Nuñez-Garcés, the orchestra’s recently-appointed principal cello, in the concerto by Benjamin Britten. Paired with the concerto is Shostakovich 5, a symphony that got a standing ovation lasting more than half an hour when it was first performed.

Details of the event

Tickets: 9–35 €

The interval at about 19.45. The concert will end at about 21.