Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2019-2020

Gustavo Gimeno & Christoffer Sundqvist & Otto Virtanen

Tickets: 9-36 €

Gustavo Gimeno conducts Shostakovich’s first symphony

The FRSO is delighted to welcome Spanish conductor Gustevo Gimeno. Shostakovich’s first symphony is really more in the nature of a concerto for orchestra than a symphony, for it is a soloistic challenge for every member of the orchestra. One of the FRSO’s raisons-d’être is to support new Finnish composition, so a premiere performance of a work by an emerging young composer is always a special occasion.

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Christoffer Sundqvist, clarinet
Otto Virtanen, bassoon

Matti Heininen: towards the extraordinary adventures of Baron Munchausen, fp (Yle commission)
Richard Strauss: Duett concertino TrV 293
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 1 F Minor Op. 10

Interval at 19.40. The concert ends at 20.40.