Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2019-2020

Nicholas Collon & Pekka Kuusisto

Thomas Adès collaboration between Pekka Kuusisto and Nicholas Collon continues in Helsinki after UK

Pekka Kuusisto and Nicholas Collon are bringing along one of the most exciting violin concertos of the 21st century, the cosmic Concentric Paths by Thomas Adès they have performed many times together. And there’s some ballet, too: the third Act of the ballet Pyörteitä (Whirls) by Uuno Klami completed by Kalevi Aho. French Rachmaninov’s last work is strongly autobiographical; life is not always a dance.

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Pekka Kuusisto, violin

Kalevi Aho: Symphonic Dances
Thomas Adès: Violin Concerto ”Concentric Paths” Op. 23
Sergey Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances Op. 45

Interval at about 20. The concert ends at about 21:10.