Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2019-2020

Andrew Manze & Tami Pohjola

Tickets: 9-36 €

viulisti Tami Pohjola
viulisti Tami Pohjola Picture by: Ville Paul Paasimaa Tami Pohjola

Tami Pohjola is the violin soloist with the FRSO

The themes for the present concert year – Shostakovich and young Finns – coincide with Tami Pohjola as the soloist in Shostakovich’s first violin concerto. It was one of the works Shostakovich was obliged to keep hidden until Stalin was out of the way. Sibelius and Beethoven both have nature and its influence in common.

Andrew Manze, conductor
Tami Pohjola, violin

Jean Sibelius: Movements from The Tempest
Dmitri Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 A Minor Op. 77
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 F Major ”Pastorale” Op. 68

Late-Night Chamber Music
Paula Sundqvist, violin
Ville Koponen, violin
Jakob Dingstad, viola
Mikko Ivars, cello
Dmitri Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 13 B Flat Minor Op. 138

Interval at about 20:10. The concert ends at about 21:15. The Late-Night Chamber Music ends at about 21:50.