Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2020-2021

Kent Nagano & Till Fellner

Watch and listen: Yle Radio 1 & Yle Areena & Yle Teema & Yle TV 1

Kent Nagano
Kent Nagano Picture by: Benjamin Ealovega kent nagano
The Metamorphosen for 23 solo strings by Richard Strauss is a heart-breaking monument to the Second World War and the destruction of the German late-Romantic world. Strauss began composing it in spring 1945, when many of his beloved German opera houses had been ruined by Allied bombs. Mozart wrote his 22nd piano concerto at a busy stage in his life, alongside The Marriage of Figaro. The soloist is Austrian Till Fellner, whose Mozart playing has been described as having an authoritative, sovereign and playful tone.

Kent Nagano, conductor
Till Fellner, piano

W. A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 22 KV 482
Richard Strauss: Metamorphosen for 23 solo strings TrV 290

Tickets: 15-47 €

No interval. The concert ends at about 9.15 pm.