Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2020-2021

Emilia Hoving & Nikita Boriso-Glebsky

Watch and listen: Yle Radio 1 & Yle Areena & Yle Teema

kapellimestari Emilia Hoving
kapellimestari Emilia Hoving Picture by: Laura Oja Emilia Hoving
Ten years or so after the Second World War, Dmitri Shostakovich paid a visit to the widely destroyed city of Dresden. Deeply moved by the work of reconstructing the city, he was inspired to compose his eighth string quartet; this was later transcribed as a Chamber Symphony for String Orchestra by Rudolf Barshai. Conducting this programme of Russian music will be Emilia Hoving, and the soloist in the mournfully beautiful Concertino by Mieczysław (Moisei) Weinberg will be Nikita Boriso-Glebsky, winner of the 2010 Sibelius Violin Competition.

Stanislav Kochanovsky, conductor
Nikita Boriso-Glebsky, violin

Dmitri Šostakovitš: Prelude and Scherzo Op. 11
Mieczyslaw Weinberg: Concertino for Violin and String Orchestra Op. 42
Dmitri Šostakovitš (arr. Rudolf Barshai): Chamber Symphony Op. 110a

Tickets: 9-37 €