Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2020-2021

John Storgårds & Anu and Piia Komsi & Pasi Hyökki

Watch and listen: Yle Radio 1 & Yle Areena & Yle Teema & Yle TV 1

sopraanosiskokset Piia ja Anu Komsi
sopraanosiskokset Piia ja Anu Komsi Picture by: Ville Paul Paasimaa Anu Komsi
Unsuk Chin, now living in Berlin, trained in her native South Korea and in Hamburg, but she does not feel that her works represent Oriental any more than Western culture. Her Cantatrix Sopranica for two sopranos and countertenor contrasts different musical idioms. It was inspired by George Perec’s “The Soprano Project” in which the writer parodies scientific treatises.

Due to COVID-19 measures audiences will not be permitted to attend concerts by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra in the Helsinki Music Centre between November 27 and December 20. The concert will be shown on Yle Areena.

John Storgårds, conductor
Anu Komsi, soprano
Piia Komsi, soprano
Pasi Hyökki, contra tenor

Einar Englund: De Profundis
Unsuk Chin: Cantatrix Sopranica
Piotr Tchaikovski: Entr’acte (Elegie from Hamlet Op. 67a)
W. A. Mozart: Symphony No. 26 E flat major