Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2020-2021

Life Story

chamber music sundays
chamber music sundays Radion sinfoniaorkesteri
Thomas Adès is known for his feel for drama

This concert is named after the last item on the programme: Life Story by contemporary British composer Thomas Adès. Scored for soprano, two bass clarinets and double bass, it is a dramatic work inspired by the poem of the same name by Tennessee Williams. The text describes the feelings of two strangers in a hotel room one morning after they’ve “been to bed together for the first time, without the advantage or disadvantage of any prior acquaintance”.

Teemu Kauppinen, artistic planning och double bass
Piia Komsi, soprano
Christoffer Sundqvist, clarinet och bass clarinet
Giuseppe Gentile, clarinet och bass clarinet
Jakob Dingstad, viola
Miika Uuksulainen, cello

J.S Bach: Movements from The Goldberg Variations
Thomas Adès: Les Baricades Mistérieuses
Ralph Vaughan Williams: Three Vocalises
Thomas Adès: Life Story