Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2021-2022


Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

Renard-burleskia kuvaava ketun häntä
Renard-burleskia kuvaava ketun häntä Radion sinfoniaorkesteri
With a view to tracing broad spans, our new Chief Conductor Nicholas Collon has picked out three theme composers for each season, one from the past and two the present. Today marks the start of the Stravinsky season. Renard, a burlesque composed for the sum of 2,500 Swiss francs, is a stage work somewhere between a ballet and an opera. The Violin Concerto of 1931 represents his later Neo-classical period, and the soloist is the phenomenal Leila Josefowicz, renowned for her performances of new music.

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Leila Josefowicz, violin
Tuomas Katajala, tenor
Simo Mäkinen, tenor
Jussi Vänttinen, bass
Sami Luttinen, bass
Frederic Wake-Walker, director and visual design
Siljamari Heikinheimo, revised production

Igor Stravinsky: Renard
Igor Stravinsky: Violin Concerto D Major
William Walton: Symphony No. 1 B Flat Minor

Pre-concert talk 6 pm Lower Foyer:
Stravinsky and the season’s other themes. Chief conductor Nicholas Collon.

Tickets: 15-47 €
Interval at about 7.55 pm. The concert ends at about 9.10 pm.