Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2021-2022

FRSO Festival Thomas Adès - Märchentänze

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

kuvassa RSO-festivaalin teemasäveltäjä Thomas Adès
kuvassa RSO-festivaalin teemasäveltäjä Thomas Adès Radion sinfoniaorkesteri
The festival culminates in a world premiere. Thomas Adès has created a version for violin and orchestra of a duet he composed for Tokyo 2020. The orchestral work is an FRSO commission and the soloist is a frequent partner of Adès’, Pekka Kuusisto. The other Adès work, the virtuosic, breath-taking Asyla for orchestra, has garnered a number of awards, including the greatest of all for music, the Grawemeyer.

Thomas Adès, conductor
Pekka Kuusisto, violin

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 6 D Minor Op. 104
Thomas Adès: Märchentänze, fp (Yle commission)
Francisco Coll: Four Iberian Miniatures
Thomas Adès: Asyla

Late-Night Chamber Music
Igor Stravinsky: Duo concertante
Maurice Ravel: Sonata for violin and piano No. 2 G Major
Pekka Kuusisto, violin
Thomas Adès, piano

Tickets: 15-47 €
Interval at about 19.55. The concert will end at about 21.05, the late-night chamber music at about 21.50.