Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2021-2022

Nicholas Collon & François Leleux

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

All the works in this Landscapes and Mindscapes programme were composed in 1945. The Four Sea Interludes by Benjamin Britten are from his opera Peter Grimes, and as its name suggests, Copland’s Appalachian Spring transports the listener to the USA’s East Coast. The Symphony by Igor Stravinsky and the Oboe Concerto by Richard Strauss were both premiered in 1946. Stravinsky called his a “war symphony”, and the request for Strauss’s concerto had come from an American intelligence officer. Oboist François Leleux makes his debut with the FRSO.

Nicholas Collon, conductor
François Leleux, oboe

Benjamin Britten: Four Sea Interludes Op. 33a
Richard Strauss: Oboe Concerto D Major Op. AV144
Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring
Igor Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements

Tickets: 9-37 €

Interval at about 19.55. The concert will end at about 21.15.

Please note! Covid-19 passport will be required from all visitors who are 16 years or older. More information