Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2021-2022

Oedipus Rex

piirretty kuva kuningas Oidipuksesta jonka silmästä valuu veri
piirretty kuva kuningas Oidipuksesta jonka silmästä valuu veri Radion sinfoniaorkesteri
Stravinsky had no time for vulgar Wagnerian drama, and instead sought a more analytical approach to opera. As the language for his setting of the Classical tragedy he chose Latin, which to his mind was free from all that was vulgar. The text of Oedipus Rex is by Jean Cocteau and reflects the atmosphere in 1920s Paris. The premiere of the piece for Clarinet and Orchestra by Esa-Pekka Salonen is an undisputed “event”. Salonen wrote it at the request of the FRSO’s principal clarinettist, Christoffer Sundqvist as an FRSO commission.

Jukka-Pekka Saraste, conductor
Christoffer Sundqvist, clarinet
Russell Thomas, tenor (Oedipus)
Jeni Packalen, mezzo-soprano (Jocaste)
Tommi Hakala, baritone (Creon, Messenger)
Jussi Myllys, tenor (Shepherd)
Timo Riihonen, bass (Tiresias)
Irina Björklund, narrator
Polytech Choir, coach Saara Aittakumpu

Esa-Pekka Salonen: kínēma, five scenes for solo clarinet and string orchestra (Yle commission)
Igor Stravinsky: Oedipus Rex

Ticket: 15–47 €

Interval at about 19.35. The concert will end at about 21.05.
Please note! Covid-19 passport will be required from all visitors who are 16 years or older. More information