Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2021-2022

Nicholas Collon & Anu Komsi

RSO:n ylikapellimestari Nicholas Collon
RSO:n ylikapellimestari Nicholas Collon Picture by: Anton Sucksdorff Nicholas Collon
Grażyna Bacewicz is one of the most highly-acclaimed Polish composers of her generation, yet only the second woman to win recognition outside her homeland. Her Music for Strings, Trumpets and Percussion is a frenzied, implacable work affording a vision of a new world. The Concerto for Orchestra by Witold Lutosławski marked his breakthrough in 1954. It pays homage to Bartók, but only in later life did Lutosławski begin to appreciate its folkloristic and traditional spirit again. The FRSO’s disc of Lutosławski symphonies was nominated for a Grammy in 2021.

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Anu Komsi, soprano
Helsinki Music Centre Choir, coach Nils Schweckendiek

Grażyna Bacewicz: Music for Strings, Trumpets and Percussion
Francis Poulenc: Gloria
Witold Lutosławski: Concerto for Orchestra

Tickets: 9-37 €