Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2021-2022

John Storgårds & Kirill Kozlovski

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

The death of her composer sister Lili was a turning point in the life of Nadia Boulanger. She wrote “music that was not even bad, just useless,” she said, and stopped composing. A great pity. The influence of Fauré and the inspiration of Stravinsky can be heard in her Fantaisie variée piano concerto of 1912. Collaboration with Finnish composers is one of the FRSO’s core missions. Perttu Haapanen belongs to the experimental wing of his composer generation, seeking timbres and characters that look towards the future.

John Storgårds, conductor
Kirill Kozlovski, piano

Perttu Haapanen: at the Kármán line, fp (Yle commission)
Nadia Boulanger: Fantaisie variée, Piano Concerto
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 2 C Major Op. 61

Tickets: 9-37 €
Interval at c. 19.55. The concert will end at c. 21.05.