Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2021-2022

FRSO Young Soloists

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

What tradition began in the 1950s and is a lasting favourite with audiences year after year? Correct. The Young Soloists concert is in many respects one of the highlights of the year. The experience of playing with a big symphony orchestra is so unique that it has fired many of the young soloists chosen for the concert with a burning desire to become a professional musician. Over the years, their ranks have included Paavo Berglund, Ralf Gothóni and Esa-Pekka Salonen. The soloists are chosen by audition.

József Hárs, conductor
Lumikki Heikkilä, violin
Saima Malmivaara, cello
Sonja Lankinen, clarinet
Ilona Liiman, piano
Julie Svačinová, viola
Aada Kuoppa, violin
Leonardo Rojnić, accordion

Giovanni Battista Viotti: Violin Concerto No. 22 A Minor, Part 3 “Agitato assai”
Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto E Minor Op. 85, Part 1 “Adagio; Moderato”
Carl Maria von Weber: Clarinet Concerto No. 2 E Flat Minor J. 118 Op. 74, Part 1 “Allegro”
Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 C Major Op. 26, Part 1 “Andante - Allegro”
Franz Anton Hoffmeister: Viola Concerto D Major, Part 1 “Allegro”
Jean Sibelius: Humoresque No. 6 G Minor Op. 89
Jean Sibelius: Humoresque No. 2 D Major Op. 87
Mikołaj Majkusiak: Concerto "Classico", Parts 2 Lento drammatico and 1 Allegro ben ritmico

Tickets: 9-37 €

Interval at about 19.50. The concert will end at about 21.00.