Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2022-2023

Elim Chan & Olli Mustonen

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

Sergei Rachmaninov left Russia during the Revolution and never returned to his homeland. The works he composed during the last quarter-century of his life are coloured by racking homesickness. Sitting down to compose a new work, he was perhaps helped by a theme that had already appealed to several composer generations: from the Caprice no. 24 for solo violin by Paganini.
Béla Bartók wrote one of his greatest works in his new US homeland: the virtuoso Concerto for Orchestra. The sizzling Subito con forza composed by Unsuk Chin for the Beethoven jubilee year is also virtuosic.

Elim Chan, conductor
Olli Mustonen, piano

Unsuk Chin: Subito con forza
Sergei Rachmaninov: The Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43
Béla Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra F Minor

Late-Night Chamber Music:
Olli Mustonen, piano
Petri Aarnio, violin
Salla Savolainen, violin
Albert Papp, viola
Mikko Ivars, cello
Olli Mustonen: Piano Quintet

Tickets: 9-38 €

Interval at about 7.40 pm. The concert ends at about 8.55 pm. The Late-Night Chamber Music ends at about 9.35 pm.