Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2022-2023

We welcome Brett Dean 2/4

säveltäjä Brett Dean
säveltäjä Brett Dean Picture by: ©Bettina Stoess musiikki,Radion sinfoniaorkesteri,Brett Dean
Brett Dean has a special relationship with Beethoven. Testament is one of his many works reflecting on the life and music of his idol. The name alludes to the letter by Beethoven known as the Heiligenstadt Testament, which Dean interprets as “a leave-taking, an acceptance and a fresh start”. The viola is Dean’s own instrument, so composing a Concerto for it was a chance to assess his relationship with “this curiously beautiful, somewhat enigmatic instrument of my choosing”.

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Lawrence Power, viola

Brett Dean: Testament
Brett Dean: Viola Concerto
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 C Minor Op. 67

Tickets: 9–38 €

Interval at about 7.50 pm. The concert ends at about 8.55 pm.