Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2022-2023

FRSO & Maxim Emelyanychev

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

György Ligeti’s Ramifications weaves a dense polyphonic web out of little motifs made even denser by the string instruments tuned to a higher pitch.
Joseph Haydn wrote his Sinfonia concertante for a demanding London audience. Though he had to make a frantic effort to get it ready in time, the premiere was a resounding success. In his letters telling about his hikes through the Scottish Highlands, Felix Mendelssohn reported on not only the wild, fantastic scenery but also the Scots’ impressive habitus and dress. His impressions of his travels resulted in his bracing third Symphony.

Maxim Emelyanychev, conductor
Kyeong Ham, oboe
Otto Virtanen, bassoon
Hannu Vasara, violin
Tuomas Lehto, cello

György Ligeti: Ramifications
Joseph Haydn: Sinfonia concertante
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 Op. 56

Tickets: 9–38 €

Interval at about 19.45. The concert will end at about 20.55.