Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2022-2023

FRSO & Nicholas Collon

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

György Ligeti’s Atmosphères strikes to the very pillars of Western classical music: melody, harmony, pulse and form. Olivier Messiaen often adopted a wondrous perspective on faith. His youthful L’ascension addresses its topic in four symphonic meditations.
Rachmaninov’s Choral Symphony The Bells was his favourite work. It parallels the sound of different church bells with the various stages in human life, from the joys of youth right up to horrifying visions of death.

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Iwona Sobotka, soprano
Giorgi Sturua, tenor
Yuriy Yurchuk, baritone
Helsinki Music Centre Choir

György Ligeti: Atmosphères
Olivier Messiaen: L’ascension
Sergei Rachmaninov: The Bells

Tickets: 9–38 €

Interval at about 7.45 pm. The concert ends at about 8.55 pm.