Skip to main content
Subject page header image for Concerts, season 2022-2023

Nicholas Collon & Jonas Silinskas

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

The 1990s Väinö Raitio renaissance swept the dust off many of the finest gems in Finnish orchestral literature, such as the colourful Waterspout that had been left to slumber for over half a century. The Trumpet Concerto by Mieczysław Weinberg is such a copious work that his colleague Shostakovich called it a Symphony for Trumpet and Orchestra. The soloist in this performance is the FRSO’s own ace trumpeter Jonas Silinskas. Leonard Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances from West Side Story recall 1950s Manhattan, Maurice Ravel’s La Valse Europe before the First World War.

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Jonas Silinskas, trumpet

Väinö Raitio: Vesipatsas
Mieczysław Weinberg: Trumpet Concerto Op. 94
Leonard Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Maurice Ravel: La Valse

Tickets: 9–38 €

Interval at about 19.55. The concert will end at about 21.05.