Skip to main content

Giedrė Šlekytė & Juho Pohjonen

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

The fifth piano concerto by Ludwig van Beethoven well deserves its imperial title, The Emperor. It was not, however, a title chosen by Beethoven, even though it well describes the work’s majestic bearing.
The early version of the orchestral poem Macbeth by Richard Strauss is based on the powerful Shakespeare drama. Competing with Strauss for the status of foremost opera composer of his day was Vienna’s Franz Schreker. His Vorspiel zu einem Drama is an expanded concert overture to one of his great hits, the opera Die Gezeichneten.

Giedrė Šlekytė, conductor
Juho Pohjonen, piano

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 E Flat Major Op. 73 “Emperor”
Richard Strauss: Macbeth Op. 23
Franz Schreker: Vorspiel zu einem Drama

Late-Night Chamber Music
Erwin Schulhoff: Concertino for Flute, Viola and Double Bass
Kaisa Kortelainen, flute
Albert Papp, viola
Kati Salovaara, double bass

Tickets: 10–40 €

Interval at about 7.50 pm. The concert ends at about 9.00 pm. The Late-Night Chamber Music ends at about 9.30 pm.