Skip to main content

FRSO & Tugan Sohijev

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

kapellimestari Tugan Sohijev
kapellimestari Tugan Sohijev Picture by: Patrice Nin tugan sohijev
Composing gave Gustav Mahler many a headache in summer 1905. Two movements of his new symphony were ready and waiting, but however hard he tried, he couldn’t get the first bars down on paper. One day, he decided to take the rowing boat out on the lake by his summer villa. The sound of the oar as it hit the water transformed itself into the hypnotic rhythm of the main theme of the first movement. By mid-August, he had finished his seventh symphony.

Tugan Sokhiev, conductor

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 7 E Minor

Tickets: 10–40 €

There is no interval. The concert ends at about 8.30 pm.