Skip to main content

Beethoven Symphony No. 9

Watch and listen LIVE at Yle Areena

RSO:n ylikapellimestari Nicholas Collon
RSO:n ylikapellimestari Nicholas Collon Picture by: Chris Christodoulou 07976157455 Nicholas Collon,Radion sinfoniaorkesteri,Yle,musiikki,klassinen musiikki
Beethoven finished his ninth symphony and it was premiered in 1824, during the political aftermath of the Napoleonic wars. This monumental symphony, and especially its finale, has become a symbol of universal humanity and freedom. Almost exactly two-hundred years later, it is still as imposing and more topical than ever. Coupled with the symphony is a new work for organ and orchestra by Canadian-Finnish Matthew Whittall.

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Susanne Kujala, organ
Tuuli Takala, soprano
Virginie Verrez, mezzo-soprano
Tuomas Katajala, tenor
Matthew Rose, bass

Matthew Whittall: New work for organ and orchestra, world premiere (Yle commission)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 D Minor Op. 125

Tickets: 10–40 €