News |

Eight books nominated for 2013 Runeberg awards

The nominees for the 2013 Runeberg prize have been announced. They include poems, short stories, essays and two novels.

Vuoden 2013 Runeberg-kirjallisuuspalkintoehdokkaat.
Candidates for the 2013 Runeberg prize. Image: Yle

Each year Finland gives out the Runeberg prize to honour outstanding literature. The prize is named after the national poet Johan Ludvig Runeberg and presented on his birthday, February 5.

Nominees for the 2013 prize include two novels: Petri Tamminen’s Rikosromaani and Neuromaani by Jaakko Yli-Juonikas. The two collections of short stories are Tiina Laitila Kälvemark’s Kadonnut ranta and Peter Sandström’s Till dig som saknas.

Poetry is added to the list via Lassi Hyvärinen’s Keisarin tie, Eeva Kilpi’s Kuolinsiivous and Olli Pekka Tennilä’s Yksinkeltainen on kaksinkeltainen.

There is also one essay collection, Markku Envall’s Toinen jalka maassa ja muita esseitä.

The prize is worth 10,000 euros and will be decided on by a panel comprising the author Tommi Melender, the critic Siru Kainulainen and theatre director Dan Henriksson.

Latest in: News


Our picks