News |

Finland’s top 100 on Twitter

Wondering who in Finland is worth following on Twitter? Readers helped Yle put together a top 100 list of Finland’s most influential tweeters by revealing their top follows.

Grafiikka
Image: Twitter / Yle Uutisgrafiikka

Some 300,000 people in Finland use Twitter, which can make choosing  who to follow akin to finding a needle in a haystack. But whether you consider Twitter a voyeuristic window or a lifeline for news, here’s our who’s who of the Finnish twittersphere as voted by you (also available on Twitter):

Civil activists

Halo Efekti (@haloefekti): Environmental and human rights activist, blogger.

Finland Inc (@FinlandInc): All about politics and power.

The Ulkopolitist (@ulkopolitist): International relations, also a blog.

Joonas Mäkinen (@JoonasD6): Human rights activist, deputy chair of the Pirate Party’s youth division.

Mari Koistinen (@marikoo): Consumer and internet activist.

Petri Kola (@pe3): Hacker, researcher, designer.

Mika K. T. Pirhonen (@MikaPirhonen): One of Finland’s most prolific tweeters.

Sakari Kestinen (@kestinen): Public administration student, blogger.

Katariina M (@kaaiia): A voice from the education sector.

Media

Jussi Pullinen (@jussipullinen): Helsingin Sanomat reporter.

David Mac Dougall (@davidmacdougall): Scottish journalist living in Finland.

Esa Töykkälä (@toukkala): Journalism student.

Johanna Vehkoo (@vehkoo): Journalist, author, runs @hackshackershki.

Tuomas Enbuske (@TuomasEnbuske): Journalist, TV personality.

Julia Immonen (@JuliaImmonen): Rower, human rights activist working for Sky News Sports.

Pauli Aalto-Setälä (@PauliAS): CEO at Aller Media Finland.

Henkka Hyppönen (@HenkkaHypponen): Entertainment show host.

Elina Lappalainen (@ElinaLappalaine): Journalist at business magazine Talouselämä.

Mediakritiikki (@mediakritiikki ): Media critic.

Ossi Jääskeläinen (@Ossij): Journalist at Finnish PCWorld.

Paula Salovaara (@SalovaaraPaula): Managing editor, Helsingin Sanomat.

Esa Mäkinen (@EsaMakinen): Data journalism, Helsingin Sanomat.

Ville Grahn (@villegrahn): Data network head at provincial daily Keskisuomalainen.

Jussi Ahlroth (@jussiahlroth): Social media producer at Helsingin Sanomat.

Marja Sannikka (@marjasannikka): Host of Yle morning TV show Aamu-tv.

Mika Rahkonen (@mikarahkonen): Online news chief at Yle.

Bettina Sågbom (@bettina_yle): Swedish-speaking Yle host, columnist.

Tuija Aalto (@tuija): Digital planner at Yle.

Society

Alexander Stubb (@AlexStubb): Minister for European Affairs and Foreign Trade.

Anni Sinnemäki (@AnniSinnemaki): Green MP, former Labour Minister, songwriter.

Mikael Jungner (@MikaelJungner): MP, former head of Yle and ex-SDP party secretary.

Harri Ohra-aho (@ohra_aho): Brigadier General, Finnish Defence Forces.

Johanna Sumuvuori (@sumuvuori): Helsinki city councillor.

Business

Hanna Manninen (@HannaManna): PR and marketing professional.

Juuso Myllyrinne (@juuuso): Product strategist.

Peter Vesterbacka (@pvesterbacka): Angry Birds ”Mighty Eagle.”

Kati Sulin (@kati_sulin): Online dialogue director at Fazer Group.

Alex Nieminen (@alexnieminen): New media pioneer and marketing pro.

Janne Saarikko (@saarikko): Creative and strategy director, zeeland.fi.

Taneli Tikka (@tanelitikka): Tech entrepreneur, former head of the IRC gallery.

Arttu Silvast (@arttusilvast): Digital media producer Nokia, Yle blogger.

Antti Vilpponen (@vilpponen): Founder of Arctic Startup.

Ville Miettinen (@wili): Head of Microtask, hacker, author.

Petri Kokko (@coccco): Former figure skating champ, Google country manager.

Petteri Tarkkonen (@ptarkkonen): CEO of Finn-ID.

Education

Alf Rehn (@AlfRehn): Professor of management, Åbo Akademi.

Riitta Suominen (@Kielipoliisi): Finnish grammar police.

Kari A. Hintikka (@nethunt): Digital media researcher.

Hiski Haukkala (@hiskihaukkala): International relations professor.

Tero Toivanen (@teromakotero): Special education teacher.

Vili Lehdonvirta (@ViliLe): Researcher.

Jere Majava (@jjmajava): Researcher, blogger, social media expert.

Vesa Linja-aho (@linjaaho): Auto engineering, Senior Lecturer @ Metropolia UAS.

Cristina Andersson (@winninghelix): Author, life coach.

Internet and social media

Katja Presnal (@katjapresnal): Social media entrepreneur, blogger.

Riitta Raesmaa (@raesmaa): Entrepreneur, innovator.

Harto Pönkä (@hponka): Social media pro.

Maija Haavisto (@DiamonDie): Author, journalist

Heikki Hyppänen (@mandrl): Entrepreneur, online guru.

Mikko Hyppönen (@mikko): Chief Research Officer, F-Secure.

Jyrki Kasvi (@jyrkikasvi): Green politician, information society activist.

Petteri Järvinen (@petterij): IT-expert, non-fiction author, blogger.

Pauliina Mäkelä (@pauliinamakela): Social media coach.

Christina Forsgård (@kittikatti): Founder of Netprofile Tech PR, social media enthusiast.

Karri Anttila (@Kanttila): All things mobile and digital.

Kristiina Pääkkönen (@KristiinaMeme): Founder, MEMEgroup.

Eero Leppänen (@rautasilta): Social media pro.

Jussi-Pekka Erkkola (@jussipekka): Marketing professional, Valio.

Toni Nummela (@toninummela): It-manager with a marketing twist.

Kari Haakana (@karde): Online journalism geek, Yle.

Mats Adamczak (@matsadamczak): Teacher, blogger, all things social.

Entertainment

Jukka Hilden (@jukkadudeson): Member of the Dudesons.

Anssi ja Renne (@aamupojat): Radio morning hosts, NRJ.

Rita Tainola (@RitaTainola): Reporter at tabloid paper Ilta-Sanomat.

Music

Maija Vilkkumaa (@maijavilkkumaa): Singer.

Esa-Pekka Salonen (@esapekkasalonen): Composer, conductor.

Don Johnson Big Band (@donjohnsonbband): Hip-hop band.

Iiro Rantala (@iirorantala): Jazz pianist.

Tomi Saarinen (@tomisaarinen): Head of music @YleX.

Atso Almila (@atsoalmila): Conductor, composer, teacher, writer.

Film

Olli Sulopuisto (@osulop): Self-professed film hack.

Timo Vuorensola (@leonblank): Filmmaker.

Elias Koskimies (@eliaskoskimies): Writer, director.

Sport

Esko Seppänen (@EskoSeppanen): Editor at sports publication Urheilulehti.

Aleksi Valavuori (@Valavuori): Sports pundit, entrepreneur.

Juha Reini (@JuhaReini): Former footballer, Yle football expert.

Heikki Kovalainen (@H_Kovalainen): F1 racing driver.

Ville Nieminen (@TampereenPoika): Ice hockey player.

Antti Mäkinen (@makinenantti): Sports commentator.

Juha Hiitelä (@jhiitela): NHL correspondent for Ilta-Sanomat and Veikkaaja in Finland.

Jani Mesikämmen (@KarhuHerra): Sports writer.

Oskari Saari (@OskariSaari): Reporter and F1-commentator for MTV3 Finland.

Mikko Ilonen (@MikkoIlonen): Pro golfer.

Matias Strozyk (@MaStrozyk): Sportswriter, SM-liiga editor.

Vesa Rantanen (@vrantanen): Sports Editor for Ilta-Sanomat and Veikkaaja.

Humour

Lotta Backlund (@lottabacklund): Comedian, writer, TV producer.

Mannerheim (@MannerheimCGE): Parody account for iconic historical figure Carl Gustaf Emil Mannerheim.

Urho Kaleva Kekkonen (@KekkonenUKK): Parody account for Urho Kekkonen, Finland’s longest-serving president.

Kullervo Kammola (@KKammola): Fictional satirical figure.

Lehti (@lehtilehti): Media satire.

Latest in: News

Headlines

Our picks

Latest

Muualla Yle.fi:ssä