Sign up for our newsletter ⟩
News |

Kärpät takes Finnish ice hockey championship - again

The Kärpät team from Oulu won the 2015 Finnish ice hockey championship on Saturday night, after defeating Tampere's Tappara 2 goals to 1 in extra time.

Sebastian Aho ja kultatuuletus vuosimallia 2015
The hero of the night was 17-year-old Sebastian Aho. Image: Tomi Hänninen

In the final of a seven-match series, the deciding goal came in the second extra time period, when Kärppä's 17-year-old Sebastian Aho fired a shot between the legs of Tappara goalie Juha Metsola.

This is the second consecutive championship for Kärpät, who now have a total of six national championship titles so far in the 2000s, and a win also back in 1981.

For Tappara, the defeat was particularly stinging, as this was the third consecutive final that it has lost; seen in more positive terms, Tappara took its third consecutive silver in the national championships.    

Latest in: News


Our picks