News |

Le Havre sweeps Jussi Awards

The Finnish equivalent of the Oscars, the Jussi Awards, were handed out on Sunday. Aki Kaurismäki’s Le Havre emerged as the big winner of the evening, taking the awards for best picture, best director and best screenplay.

Näyttelijä André Wilms aterioi pöydän ääressä Kati Outisen katsellessa taustalla.
André Wilms ja Kati Outinen näyttelevät Le Havre -elokuvassa. Image: Marja-Leena Hukkanen / Sputnik Oy

The film took six Jussi Awards in total. Director Kaurismäki did not, however, attend the awards ceremony himself.

With four Jussi statues, Sakari Kirjavainen's war movie Silence was the second most awarded film.

The Jussi for best leading actress went to Elina Knihtilä for her performance in Zaida Bergroth's family drama The Good Son, while Joonas Saartamo from Silence was the best leading male actor. In their acceptance speeches, both winners endorsed presidential candidate Pekka Haavisto, urging the audience to give him their votes.

Elina Salo took the Jussi for best supporting actress, and Ilkka Heiskanen was awarded as best supporting actor. Salo was also presented the special “Concrete Jussi” in recognition of her lifetime achievement in film.

Mia Halme’s Forever Yours was this year’s best Finnish documentary film, while the Jussi Audience Award went to the film Varasto.

The 2012 Jussi gala was staged at Helsinki’s Cable Factory, Finland’s largest cultural centre. The awards show was broadcast live on commercial TV channel Nelonen.

Dating back to 1944, the Jussi Award is the oldest known national film prize in Europe. The winners are chosen by Filmiaura, an organisation of industry professionals.

The Jussi statue was designed by sculptor Ben Renvall in 1944. Today the statues are made by his son, Seppo Renvall.

Latest in: News


Our picks